Home > Reading 1 (Dr. Borzabadi) > Unit 12 Vocab Story (Twisted Scion)

Unit 12 Vocab Story (Twisted Scion)

January 15, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

In the Name of God

Name: Reza Takhshid
Class:
Reading & Comprehension 1
Assignment: Unit 12 Vocabulary Story
Title: Twisted Scion

Inspector:

So tell me, what do you know about Tom Fort?

Alex:

Tommy was a dear friend of mine. He always regaled us with strange stories. Many times his storylines were hardly intelligible. Also he was an inveterate bluffer. But he was a very good and versatile entertainer. Beside his stories, he would do his little acts and sing us songs. We always told him he should try out for some movie parts, but he always said that he didn’t care, and the joy he gets from entertaining his friends was all he needed.

Inspector:

Did you or your friends find any signs of aggressiveness in him?

Alex:

Never, until several days ago, he came to my place completely wasted. I must say I was very surprised, because Tommy never drank before. Anyways it was about 8 or 9 o’clock in the afternoon when he came in. He started telling me a sick story. He said, several months ago, he inadvertently ran over a young woman and much to his surprise, not that he didn’t feel any guilt, but he also felt great pleasure and satisfaction from ending a life. He continued with how he felt like a predatory animal driving around the town at nights and finding his prays.

I never thought that this was true but still I asked him what he did with the bodies. He said he took them to the garbage dump outside the city and burned them. And that he had a hard time doing this at first but later on he became inured to the smell and the unpleasant scene.

I just couldn’t believe what he was saying. You see, he is a scion of a very wealthy and respected family. He was also a very kind person; every day he visited his old and senile grandmother and helped her with the choirs around the house for several hours.

Inspector:

All that seems to be true and it corresponds with Tom’s confessions except one tiny detail. Tom told us he has evidence to prove that every night after his hunt, he brought the body to your home and you paid him a hundred dollars and raped the bodies.

Alex:

That can’t be true. He can’t prove anything.

Inspector:

We will see about that soon enough. Guard! Take him away.

Alex:

Nooooo!

  1. Payaam
    January 17, 2010 at 2:17 pm

    dude I’m just impressed with this one ! it is one of the best of your narratives. nice start, flowing story line, unpredictable characters, and somehow Hollywood-classic ending.
    and frankly I’m (inadvertently) envying you about the way you’ve EMBEDDED your new words into the sentences.

    now let me regale you couple of points out of it :

    -“every day he visited his old and senile grandmother and help her with…” intelligibly conveys what you want me to get from it but I think it’s not the best way of sentence making for the occasion. I can suggest these sentences for it : “everyday he was visiting his old and senile grandmother and helping her with…” or ” he used to visit his old and senile grandmother and help her with…”

    -as i’m seeing you’re inveterately using the word ‘ANYWAYS’ in your writings (formal & informal) you better hear what is said about it in my dictionary: ‘anyways Same as anyway (nonstandard or regional) … Avoid using this regional word in formal writing, as it is not regarded as Standard English. Similarly, avoid other words of the type, for example, anywheres and somewheres. Use instead anyway, anywhere, and somewhere’.

  2. Payaam
    January 17, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    just correcting a slight solecism in my previous comment :
    “now let me regale you WITH couple of points out of it”

    ;->

  3. Rez(A)
    January 19, 2010 at 11:35 am

    tnx man 😉
    — about the grandmother thingy! there is a typo mistake in my sentence: ” … grandmother and helpED her with… ” (which is now fixed inside the story, could that be the reason for u feeling weird about it?

    — The used to sentence won’t cross my point, I feel it will mean that he did that before he started to be evil but he did both along side each other (both being killing and helping)

    — The was …ING one: I don’t know, I feel there is something wrong, I e-mailed one of my prof. s we’ll see what happens with that …

    anyways, !!!! Well I knew its informal (with the S) but I didn’t realized I used it in formal writings. but I really like the way anywayS sound! and thanks for the heads up i’ll try not to use it in formal writing …

  4. F-SH
    January 20, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    I’m not sure, I’m not sure
    مثل اینکه بنده هرچی عرض می کنم سو تفاهم میشه
    البته دوستان باز خودشون می دونن ولی در هر صورت …بله؟

    • Rez(A)
      January 21, 2010 at 2:26 pm

      هان؟

  5. January 27, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    از این به بعد جواب کامنتها رو همونجا می دم که همه دور هم در جریان باشن! 😉

    • Rez(A)
      February 5, 2010 at 7:35 pm

      tnx 😀

  6. Leila
    February 7, 2010 at 10:38 pm

    Aaaaaa!!!! That was amazing!! Totally awesome! It’s been a while since I last visited your blog, it is MUCH cooler and good looking!! Viva! 😀

    • Rez(A)
      February 9, 2010 at 5:16 pm

      Thank you, Glad your back and you liked it!
      your (you and well others who comment) comments give me the fuel to try harder, and improve.

  7. Peyman
    February 8, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Thank you for regaling us with your prodigious stories Reza, I should’ve read them earlier, I am the biggest procrastinator ever, can’t withstand it, though it has always imperiled my intellectual life, making me blunder so much and miss many opportunities.
    It is exhilarating to see you have surpassed the initial levels of storytelling and have stepped into more mature themes such as this,
    I think you could discern and construe my feeble attempt to exploit your weblog and try to assimilate some new words (chapter 1-4) that I have learnt because of your blog into this reply lol thought you might like it :))
    Thanks Man
    Keep up the good work

    • Rez(A)
      February 9, 2010 at 5:13 pm

      Thanks dude!
      I missed your constructive comments. I’m glad you are back, and that you feel I’m entering a higher level. (even that its still a novice level!)

  8. دانشجوی از سلف گریخته ی آرام در محوطه
    February 26, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    I’m not a fan of Limp Bizkit, but I love this song,

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

