Home > Reading 1 (Dr. Borzabadi) > Unit 6 Story (obese politics)

Unit 6 Story (obese politics)

November 14, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

In the Name of God

Name: Reza Takhshid
Class:
Reading & Comprehension 1
Assignment: Story of Unit 6 vocabulary

 

I was walking by the school of law and political science of the University of Tehran. It was around noon and the sun was strong. It was just too scorching hot to be walking any further. As I looked around I saw a well dressed man sitting in the shadow of a tree. I went over and sat next to him. What started to be a colloquy ended up to be a friendly chat.
In the beginning, he told me that he is working on his PhD dissertation. While he was talking an obese man walked right by us. Farzad, the man I was sitting with, told me that he, who just passed us, was the man forcing him to revise hi PhD thesis. He explained to me how that man made crass remarks about his work and expostulated with him about the matters which he included in his dissertation. Farzad continued that he could not get his degree unless he eschew mentioning evidences of brazen cheating in the latest presidential election. I put my hand on his shoulder and told him that he must stoop down to their level and turn in an anthology of Ahmadinejad’s so called heroic speeches as his thesis. When our conversation came to an end he went to the library and I continued walking.

  1. Peyman
    November 15, 2009 at 1:24 am

    Hey: )
    I don’t have much to add…: ) Just a question…Shouldn’t we write the first letters of “the school of law and political science” also in “capital letters” ?

    All the best

  2. Peyman
    November 15, 2009 at 9:55 am

    [He explained to me how that man made crass remarks about his work and expostulated with him about the matters which he (had) included in his dissertation]

    #Isn’t it better this way?

    #I would rewrite the who sentence this way:)

    He explained to me how that man made crass remarks about his work, expostulating him for the subject matters which he had included in his dissertation.

  3. Rez(A)
    November 15, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    I don’t know! maybe they should be capitalised.

    that sounds better, but, I had to squeeze in the brazen thingy!

    so I’m gonna leave it like that!

    but thanks! (I like to see different forms of sentences with same meanings, good for brain!!)

  4. Peyman
    November 15, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    It didn’t have anything to do with “Brazen” 🙂

    I just put “had” before “included”, and made a transient from of “expostulate” to link the two sentence 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

